top of page

Some thoughts, being an athlete in 2020



I haven’t written any big race review this year, because honestly there’s none. But lucky for me, earlier this year I managed to join few running races, and got podium twice. I thought this is gonna be a fruitful year after what we trained in 2019, but apparently, we all have to wait and work a little longer.



So, as we all know 2020 has been hitting us hard. For some of the occupation probably only hit a little. But for me as an athlete in Indonesia, it started with two times a month to zero racing in months. The biggest impact of this pandemic era is the postponed of PON, the biggest sporting event in the country have wait to for another year. then it means, i need to hold back my retirement for a while, and signify that I have more time to train. Becos I can’t lie those races is my source of having fun and earning some money, all of a sudden, we all force to stay at home this whole year.


looking back to these past 12 months, here are some of my thoughts and attitude to keep me survive this year...


 

Never give up hope and dreams


Those both are powerful things. It is what keeps me going until now, 12 hours of training in a week with no racing, but still doing it, believing one day I could achieve my biggest goal. I know it is a desperate time, but when you do something with all your heart, for a cause, it could be just for fun or someone you love, unwittingly you will keep going with no complain.





 

Create small goals each week


My biggest goal has been postponing this year, so I need to reset my goal into smaller part. Training being back to basic, more endurance, longer hours, less intensity. So my goals would be as simple as cycling 200km in a week or just trying out new routes. I just make everything less complicated and easy to achieve.







 

Don't ever forget to have fun


Ever. Having fun is the number one thing why I try triathlon. But with zero racing this time, I made myself adaptable to new kind of racing, which is virtual. This kind of race is suitable, convenient, and very safe for us living in the red zone. I can do it anytime and anywhere (indoor or outdoor) within the time frame, and I still get that finisher medal and winning trophy. It treats my longing for racing.

check out some of the coolest virtual race: Indonesia Triathlon Series, 99 Virtual Race


Although these unfortunates’ things happened, I am forever grateful of health and being able to stay at home with my family and loved one, and that’s the most valuable things of all.


Above all else we are in this together.

2020 has been tough, but we are tougher.

xoxo

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page