top of page

Toyota Bangsaen Triathlon 2018


within two months of training with Team Hope, coached by Andy Wibowo, we decided to have a little bit of test to see my progress and what i'm lack of in triathlon. this race seemed perfect, it's actually part of the Thailand Tri League, but this is the 3rd series stop after Pattaya and Sattahip Triathlon. Toyota Bangsaen Triathlon 2018 was held for two days offered so many competition, like triathlon , duathlon, fun run, and of course open water swim. I my self participated in 1500 m open water swim and for the next day is Olympic Distant triathlon.

Arrived at DMK international airport on friday after 3 hours flight, we headed to Bangsaen for one hour drive. Thou i could see anything special about Bangsaen, but along the beach they got the best sea food stall everywhere. a little bit pricey, but all the Thai food were fresh from the ocean so delicious.

our hotel was 500 meter to the race start and expo, and it was cheap. we went to the race expo to get my bib number. the expo was at Bangsaen Heritage Hotel. entering the hall I was amazed, it was so big, and I could see the enthusiasm from all the people, got me chills. And not to mention there were Pro athletes participated in this race at Master Distance and of course my coach was one of them. So we could learnt so much from them. So many brands stall, very well organized waiting line, big stage, and of course massive food for carbo loading dinner.

 

Day 1

on Saturday, it was first day race for open water swim. the purpose of this race, was to get a good warm up for tomorrow, since i didn't wanna run or bike. anyway, the course was counter clockwise triangle, very flat (no current at all), and lifeguards on every 50 meters buoys (whut?!) so it's totally safe for beginners.

at the start line, i was ready, no warm up, just keep swimming untill 1500 meter, then of course I won! not to brag, it was quite easy for me, or for any swimmers to win this. oh this was also my first ever open water event in my entire life. as a swimmer I never tried any open water competition, so winning this was so special.

 

Day 2

this is it, moment of truth. I woke up at five, did some yoga stretching, then went to the transition area, put my hydration and nutrition on my bike, helmet, checking my tire pressure, and have a prayer with me holding my bike.

before swim start, i drink my coffee, i have a warm up stretch with rubber band, to get my arms ready. i did a little sprint run, squad, jumping jack, push up, breathing pattern. not much of a movement, but just enough to get my muscle ready.

i didnt have many challenge in swimming, apart that my wave start always in the middle wave after the longer distance start. there would be so many athletes in front of me that i had to pass or hit in this matter (sorry). but i bet i was the fastest swimmer that came out of the water.

going to T1, put on my helmet and glasses, passing all the 350 meters bike.

on the bike, i took my gel, stay hydrated, try to pace myself about 80% effort in the first half, then pushed myself after 20km to the finish line. most of the road was flat, so it was time to make the best speed average here.

off the bike, put off my helmet, out of the T2, my heart rate felt okay, i mean not too high. but my muscle was kinda tight. cramped a little bit. so i was on the survival mode. the run course was mostly flat, but a little hilly on 4-6km, and water station on every km, i was impressed by it. 500 meters to the finish line, i tried to sprint my heart out.

 

i was pleased with the result 2h 29m, this was just a beginning, there's only training harder after this. so big thank you to my babe who always support me every step of the way.

1st place age group 25-29

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page